Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

You are here  >  CEWD  >  SpecialInterest  >  Safety Education

This Website is no longer updated and DOES NOT have current information. Please Go To the NEW WEBSITE for current information. Thank you.

Safety Education

Continuing Education Workforce Development offers regular safety education classes on topics including:

    • License To Carry   • Civilian Handgun  • Motorcycle Safety

License To Carry (LTC)

License To Carry Preparation in One Day

This course is designed for persons desiring qualification to obtain a permit to carry a concealed handgun. Course topics meet the requirements of the State of Texas. State law requires applicants pass a written test and demonstration of proficiency with the handgun. Necessary training materials and equipment are provided. Minimum age: 21 years. Student should register a minimum of 5 days in advance of the course date. Tuition fee includes ammunition, target and weapon.

After successful completion of license class, student will complete the online license application and mail required documents along with the required fee for the license to Texas Department of Public Safety. THIS IS NOT A CLASS FOR SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO SAFELY OPERATE AND FIRE A HANDGUN. It is recommended a student bring own handgun (unloaded) to class as student is more familiar with using their own equipment. Students should bring a light lunch or snack and beverage as there is not a designated/scheduled lunch break.

Alvin Campus

Course No. Date(s) Time Day Room Instructor
CEHGUN 0601 AC12 License to Carry
08/03/2019 – 08/03/2019
8:00 AM – 2:00 PM Sat N111 George Phillips
CEHGUN 0601 AC01 License to Carry 09/07/2019 – 09/07/2019 8:00 AM – 2:00 PM  Sat N111 George Phillips
CEHGUN 0601 AC02 License to Carry  10/05/2019 – 10/05/2019 8:00 AM – 2:00 PM  Sat N111 George Phillips
CEHGUN 0601 AC03 License to Carry 11/02/2019 – 11/02/2019 8:00 AM – 2:00 PM  Sat N111 George Phillips
CEHGUN 0601 AC04 License to Carry 12/07/2019 – 12/07/2019  8:00 AM – 2:00 PM  Sat N111 George Phillips
Tuition: $69.62             Fees: $6.38

Register Online with WebACCess

 Civilian Handgun

These courses are for first time handgun users and designed for someone who does not know how to safely operate and fire a handgun. Classes are added with sufficient enrollment.  More information at

 Register Online with WebACCess

Motorcycle Safety

The class includes classroom instruction and hands-on, in-the-seat training in the use of controls and parts, smooth starts and stops, shifting gears, braking, turning and evasive maneuvers. 

To successfully complete the class, a participant must be present for the entire class; satisfactorily complete a written test at the end of the classroom session; and satisfactorily complete a skill evaluation consisting of the execution of various maneuvers in a safe and controlled manner. Successful completion of the class earns the participant a certificate that meets the state license mandate. Motorcycles and helmets are provided. The class is conducted rain or shine. Proper protective gear is required (helmet, eye protection, long sleeves, long pants, full-fingered gloves, and over-the-ankle footwear).
Alvin Campus

Course No.  Date(s) Time  Day  Room   Instructor 
CEMCSE 1000 015 Motorcycle Safety 08/10/2019 – 08/11/2019 
 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127  Clinton Harris 
CECMSE 1000 016 Motorcycle Safety 08/24/2019 – 08/25/2019  07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 Clinton Harris
CECMSE 1000 001 Motorcycle Safety 09/14/2019 – 09/15/2019  07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 Clinton Harris 
CECMSE 1000 002 Motorcycle Safety 09/28/2019 – 09/29/2019 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 Clinton Harris 
CECMSE 1000 003 Motorcycle Safety  10/12/2019 – 10/13/2019  07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127  Cinton Harris
CECMSE 1000 004 Motorcycle Safety 10/26/2019 – 10/27/2019 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU   H127 Clinton Harris 
CECMSE 1000 005 Motorcycle Safety
11/16/2019 – 11/17/2019 07:30AM - 04:30PM  SSU H127 Clinton Harris 
CECMSE 1000 006 Motorcycle Safety  12/07/2019 – 12/08/2019  07:30AM - 04:30PM  SSU H127 Clinton Harris

Tuition and fees for the class is $225.00

Note: Students under the age of 18 must have a driver learner permit and will be required to submit both the “Consent to Treat a Minor” and the "Texas Waiver and Student Information” forms with a parent or guardian’s signature.

To download the Consent to Treat form, click here.

To download the Texas Waiver and Student Information form, click here

To download the Texas Department of Public Safety Motorcycle Operator’s Manual, click here

Request more information at

or call 281.756.3787 


Contact Us

Main Campus

Address: 3110 Mustang Road, Alvin, TX 77511
Telephone: (281) 756-3500

Continuing Education Workforce Development (CEWD)

Telephone: (281) 756-3787

facebook twitter youtube flickr Instagram Logo Google+ Logo